IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> [implemented] Timestamps!
Kangie
post Jan 5 2007, 01:12 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 494
Joined: 9-July 06
From: UK
Member No.: 10



I know you have the default messenger ones, but a.) I like the time to be more accurate than just hours and minutes, and b.) I like them at the beginning of the name and not the end tongue.gif

*bows to TB* Plllleeeeaaaasssseeee bring them back!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Annuix
post Jan 8 2007, 09:35 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 182
Joined: 20-November 06
From: United Kingdom (Scotland)
Member No.: 250



I'm on Kangie's side for this...I need the greater accuracy too! I used to love this feature on SP2.

*Bows with Kangie* Pleeeeaaassseee.... rolleyes.gif


--------------------
IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ravi.
post Jan 8 2007, 03:47 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 16-December 06
From: Netherlands // Somewhere In The Middle
Member No.: 805



Yeap
The Default one is really bad.

So,

TB, any comments (h)!?


--------------------
IPB Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
coolzee
post Jan 8 2007, 10:04 PM
Post #4


Member
**

Group: New Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 6-January 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,182



it would be good if u can some how manage to get the contact local time, so we can see there actually time, and they can see ours in the chat window.

btw, Kangie idea is good also.


--------------------
---StuffPlug 3 given [S]uper [P]owers to Windows Live Messenger---
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
azn_pride
post Jan 8 2007, 10:06 PM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: New Members
Posts: 193
Joined: 19-November 06
From: Canada
Member No.: 209



i think I've read that already on the forum.... but it's a good sugestion


--------------------
Now that Anaheim win the Stanley Cup,
let's watching another sports: soccer
Let's go Impact

www.montrealimpact.com
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aardvark
post Jan 12 2007, 06:21 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 33



I personally don't use timestamps, but when I had a look at it a while back, I know what you're all on about.

Yes! Bring it back!


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
auzak
post Jan 13 2007, 02:29 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: New Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 12-January 07
Member No.: 1,299



an option for a customizable timestamp would be cool =D
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Enne
post Jan 13 2007, 04:54 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: New Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 2-January 07
From: Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Member No.: 1,049



QUOTE(auzak @ Jan 13 2007, 03:29 PM) *

an option for a customizable timestamp would be cool =D


i agree, it would be nice if you could set -- in the option menu -- if you prefer hh:mm:ss (hours, minutes, seconds) or hh:mm...

ofcourse there would be an option to put the time stamps in the begin of each Name ( where this is all about? tongue.gif )

@ coolzee, i don't think it's a really good idea to display the time of you contact, as it would probb take it from there windows clock? or what ever? tongue.gif but if it would be possible -- i guess it's not for some protocol reasons huh.gif -- then (for someone in the same timezone) if my PC time is at 18:02, but that from my friend is 18:04, it would confuse me like hell tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Enne: Jan 13 2007, 04:59 PM


--------------------
--== He who controls the past, commands the future. ==--
** He who commands the future, conquers the past. **
ее We all....Command....And....Conquer.... ее
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aardvark
post Jan 14 2007, 12:28 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 33



If it would display the time of your contact, it would tell the difference from your computer, much like the Timezone script for MsgPlus! Live. Although the only flaw with this script is you must set the time difference between you and your contact, which isn't all that bad really, but at least it gives you accuracy compared to your time at the moment.

Or, alternaivly, you could make it so it sends a signal to somewhere like time.microsoft.com and obtain the time of what it's meant to be and then change it depending on where your contact is, meaning they might need to enter their GMT difference somewhere. It's a little confusing but I hope you get what I mean.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RedMist
post Jan 14 2007, 06:58 AM
Post #10


Member
**

Group: New Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 16-November 06
Member No.: 45



QUOTE(Aardvark @ Jan 13 2007, 07:28 PM) *

If it would display the time of your contact, it would tell the difference from your computer, much like the Timezone script for MsgPlus! Live. Although the only flaw with this script is you must set the time difference between you and your contact, which isn't all that bad really, but at least it gives you accuracy compared to your time at the moment.

Or, alternaivly, you could make it so it sends a signal to somewhere like time.microsoft.com and obtain the time of what it's meant to be and then change it depending on where your contact is, meaning they might need to enter their GMT difference somewhere. It's a little confusing but I hope you get what I mean.


I understand but is there a way for it to search for there timezone automatically? meaning they wont need SP3 for me to see there time over there. might be a bit of coding..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aardvark
post Jan 14 2007, 09:12 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 33



QUOTE(RedMist @ Jan 14 2007, 05:58 PM) *

I understand but is there a way for it to search for there timezone automatically? meaning they wont need SP3 for me to see there time over there. might be a bit of coding..

Well if that were true then I would be hoping future Windows releases wouldn't need to ask you that question when installing it. As far as I'm aware that's not possible with out a minimal amount of end-user input.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RedMist
post Jan 14 2007, 07:25 PM
Post #12


Member
**

Group: New Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 16-November 06
Member No.: 45



QUOTE(Aardvark @ Jan 14 2007, 04:12 AM) *

Well if that were true then I would be hoping future Windows releases wouldn't need to ask you that question when installing it. As far as I'm aware that's not possible with out a minimal amount of end-user input.


Well it was just an idea happy.gif thought it would be cool eh smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
auzak
post Jan 16 2007, 01:58 AM
Post #13


Advanced Member
***

Group: New Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 12-January 07
Member No.: 1,299



lol i was thinking more of the time you sent or received the messages.. nothing to do with the timezones.. maybe a tag on receiving their messages or something like that..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gune
post Mar 4 2007, 01:37 PM
Post #14


Advanced Member
***

Group: New Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 5-January 07
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 1,162



Has been implemented, will be in next release.
Thread Closed
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 08:35 AM