IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Update 3.0.264
TheBlasphemer
post Jan 2 2007, 05:46 PM
Post #1


Administrator
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 270
Joined: 27-May 06
Member No.: 1



Alright, the newyear-release wasn't quite as stable as I had expected it to be, so here's a little update.
The whole problem lies in the fact that I always test with the latest WLM I can get my hands on, which was 8.1.0168 in this case. This required some major changes from 8.0, which made it work only and exclusively on 8.1. I can't really undo those changes just like that, so I'm going to leave them in.
This means that this new beta still requires 8.1.0168, but this time the installer will check your Windows and WLM version and warn you before installing smile.gif
If you want to know where to get 8.1.0168, check the FAQ.

I haven't had time to fix the talk-while-blocking, keyboard flashing, or the CE/DP Stealer, but I did take a look at the current bugs:
- The "Entrypoint" error message is caused by a wrong version of WLM, just update to the beta and you should be fine.
- The "DBG error" or the Polygamy issues were caused by me opening a file exclusively *grin*, fixed that
- I have no idea where the parser errors came from, I'll need more info on that, but I'll make a seperate post on that once I have time to look into it.

The complete change-list:
- Added instructions on how to translate to installer
- New installer side-image (previously was SPNG image, now says StuffPlug 3)
- Added 20 extra languages to this release
- Solved Polygamy issues (or "DBG error" issues)
- Added WLM version check to installer
- Installer refuses on pre-2000
- Installer warns on pre-XP

Anyway, enough talking, get it while it's hot.
Have fun with this release, report bugs and glitches if you find them, but *please* look if there are any previous reports of them! Duplicate entries only make it more difficult for me to get a quick overview of bugs to fix!

Bye,
TB
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Screeny
post Jan 2 2007, 06:25 PM
Post #2


Member
**

Group: Banned
Posts: 22
Joined: 17-December 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 818



Thanks for the update, the DGB error was very annoying.

Uhhm, by the way: The about box says its "StuffPlug 3.0.263 BETA" :P

Good luck for your exam!

This post has been edited by Screeny: Jan 2 2007, 06:26 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alastor
post Jan 2 2007, 08:42 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 19-November 06
Member No.: 169



wtf..!!stuffplug no have the option oversized dp..!! :/
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vikke
post Jan 2 2007, 09:03 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Beta testers
Posts: 73
Joined: 16-November 06
Member No.: 69



That feature isn't included in Stuffplug3.

This release doesn't fix my problems sad.gif


--------------------
I'm back in Sweden! :-)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lord d'Eath
post Jan 2 2007, 10:46 PM
Post #5


Administrator
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 160
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Cardiff, UK
Member No.: 4



QUOTE(Alastor @ Jan 2 2007, 08:42 PM) *

wtf..!!stuffplug no have the option oversized dp..!! :/

Can't really be done with WLM, sorry.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
scuba
post Jan 4 2007, 12:43 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 4-January 07
Member No.: 1,127



Hi TB !
Sorry for my poor english.

First of all - you did a great work. I am sure it takes ya a lot of time for programing SP and your "fight" with new msn versions is in fact admirably.
What i want to tell you is this:
StuffnPlug has been always a "special" plugin contrary to other proggies that tried to copy your ideas and your great work. Special - because of that "oversize" feature which made SP matchless.
It is really sad to hear that the oversize feature cannot be embedded into SP3, because it will change that plugin (addon) to a "normal" one, (BIG SIGHS). sad.gif

Please let me know, WHY it doesnt work with wml - i just want to understand that.
And TB, you are a very smart guy - maybe you find a solution, please think it over.
I am sure, a lot of peeps will enjoy if you try to get our "oversizing" back into SP3 (4?).

Thanks for your great work and perhaps you have time to answer smile.gif

scuba
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheBlasphemer
post Jan 5 2007, 12:27 AM
Post #7


Administrator
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 270
Joined: 27-May 06
Member No.: 1



QUOTE(scuba @ Jan 4 2007, 12:43 PM) *

Please let me know, WHY it doesnt work with wml - i just want to understand that.
And TB, you are a very smart guy - maybe you find a solution, please think it over.
I am sure, a lot of peeps will enjoy if you try to get our "oversizing" back into SP3 (4?).


Alright, here's the complete story wink.gif
Basically, in the MSN 6 days, when you imported a DP, the size was checked, and it was resized. the DP is then sent to anyone you talk to, and it wasn't checked there.
This allowed SP to simply bypass the resizing on your side, and the display picture would still be bigger on other people's MSN.

From MSN7 onwards, Microsoft also implemented a check and resize on the receiving side. So if you send a too big DP to someone else, it's resized there and still shown as a normal DP. I could bypass that too, but that'd require SP on both sides, which would make it rather useless sad.gif

I hope that explains.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lord d'Eath
post Jan 5 2007, 12:58 AM
Post #8


Administrator
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 160
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Cardiff, UK
Member No.: 4



QUOTE(TheBlasphemer @ Jan 5 2007, 12:27 AM) *

I could bypass that too, but that'd require SP on both sides, which would make it rather useless sad.gif

That's been pretty much what I've been saying, but people have been suggesting that it makes it as much of a benefit as anything else, as it makes people pester their friends into installing StuffPlug. Even easier now that it doesn't require MsgPlus (it's now "Install StuffPlug!" as opposed to "Install StuffPlug and this ridiculous string of other programs that you also happen to need, one of which will throw adware at you because you'll be too blind/illiterate/stupid/hasty to read the installer properly!" tongue.gif).

I'm not overly fussed, actually, since I have display pictures hidden (until WLM mysteriously un-hides them when I'm talking to someone with a Flash-based DP [I don't have Flash installed for IE so Flash DPs don't display, but WLM randomly un-collapses the DPs when "viewing" them...]).


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kangie
post Jan 5 2007, 01:02 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 494
Joined: 9-July 06
From: UK
Member No.: 10



I used to just use the feature for my own benefit anyways... That way I can constantly see a giant pic of my gerbils when I'm no looking at them, I don't mind if no-one else can, if they have stuffplug then I'ts just an added bonus wink.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aken
post Jan 5 2007, 03:32 PM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 5-January 07
Member No.: 1,156



Where is the option to view the OPEN & CLOSE windows from other contacts??? sad.gif

This is SUPER IMPORTANT .... sad.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kangie
post Jan 5 2007, 03:38 PM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 494
Joined: 9-July 06
From: UK
Member No.: 10



*sighs*

http://www.stuffplug.com/?act=faq

Click the features bit smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
scuba
post Jan 5 2007, 04:44 PM
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 4-January 07
Member No.: 1,127



TB:
"So if you send a too big DP to someone else, it's resized there and still shown as a normal DP. I could bypass that too, but that'd require SP on both sides, which would make it rather useless"

Thanks for your answer TB.
As far as i understand would the "oversizing" feature work if both sides have SP installed.

PLEASE TB ! :
All my friends that are on my msn list HAVE or HAD (SP2/msn7.5) SP installed, ALL !
So i ask ya kindly to put it into SP3 with the hint that both sides have to use SP3.
PLEASE ! ! !

Well i know, thats a lot of work for you. But if you ask other SP users concerning the "oversized" feature - ima sure 90% would tell ya: I MISS IT ! biggrin.gif
Please give it a try, thank you wink.gif

SCUBA
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RedMist
post Jan 5 2007, 05:10 PM
Post #13


Member
**

Group: New Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 16-November 06
Member No.: 45



QUOTE(scuba @ Jan 5 2007, 11:44 AM) *

Well i know, thats a lot of work for you. But if you ask other SP users concerning the "oversized" feature - ima sure 90% would tell ya: I MISS IT ! biggrin.gif
Please give it a try, thank you wink.gif


Second. biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mordred
post Jan 10 2007, 03:21 PM
Post #14


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 10-January 07
Member No.: 1,263



QUOTE(aken @ Jan 5 2007, 09:32 AM) *

Where is the option to view the OPEN & CLOSE windows from other contacts??? sad.gif

This is SUPER IMPORTANT .... sad.gif


I agree with Aken! It doesnt matter if this feature is unreliable, I use the msn7.5 just for this feature..

Maybe it wont work all the time, but there is a 50% of success and we all understand that...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aardvark
post Jan 12 2007, 07:13 AM
Post #15


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 33



90% would miss it? Then I guess I'm proud to say I make up a considerable proportion of that other 10% who quite frankly, don't give a crap and can accept things and move on.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kangie
post Jan 12 2007, 02:57 PM
Post #16


Advanced Member
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 494
Joined: 9-July 06
From: UK
Member No.: 10



There has been a newer update than the one this thread talks about, so to avoid this turning into yet another open/closed notifier whinge, let me say this: I wholeheartedly agree with aardvark, and those of you who cannot do without the Open/Closed notifier, please go back to MSN7.5 and use Stuffplug NG2, and that is the only way that feature will be included in stuffplug, no matter how much you go on about it.

We are all very aware that people are willing to put up with its innacuracy, but TheBlasphemer does not want to put it in stuffplug, and as the creator (who has made up his mind 100% never to put it back) he has the last say, so please stop asking for it to be put back in, as it will NEVER return.

Closed
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2014 - 04:31 AM