IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> The Definitive Guide To Using Sp3 With Wlm 8.5
Aardvark
post Nov 17 2007, 02:36 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 33



Ok since everyone keeps asking questions about it and there is often some confusion I'm writing this so it ensures EVERYONE can do it until the new SP3 comes out.

Method 1: The Registry Edit
-Click Start. Click Run. In the Run dialog box, type in regedit, and press enter.
-In Registry Editor, click the + sign next to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE to expand it. From the list that appears, click the + next to Software.
-Now select the Microsoft folder you just expanded, and click Edit -> New -> Key from within the Registry Editor window.
-Rename the new key that appears to MSNMessenger.
(If you get "Cannot Rename key. The specified key name already exists...", Scroll up and find the folder in Microsoft called "MSNMessenger". This happens if you've had WLM installed and upgraded to 8.5)
-Select the MSNMessenger key you just created (if it isn't already selected after renaming it), and from within the Registry Editor window click Edit -> New -> String.
-Name this string InstallationDirectory
-Right click the new InstallationDirectory string and select Modify
-in the Value Data field type in C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger
-Click OK
-Close Registry Editor
-Install SP3

Method 2: Moving House
-If WLM 8.5 is installed, uninstall it,and install WLM 8.1.
-Install SP3 as usual.
-Install WLM 8.5 again
-Navigate to C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger and cut or copy the mscam32.dll file and paste it in C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger
-The next time you restart WLM 8.5 you will recieve two error messages regarding features which will not work with WLM 8.5, this is normal.

Enjoy

Edit by TheSteve: Fixed Software/Microsoft mixup
Edit by x2zen: Thread unpinned due to the release of StuffPlug 3.5


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tvguide`123
post Nov 19 2007, 06:12 AM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 19-November 07
Member No.: 2,765



"-In Registry Editor, click the + sign next to HKEY_Local_Machine to expand it. From the list that appears, click the + next to Microsoft."

I think u mean HKEY_local_machine then +software then +microsoft
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aardvark
post Nov 20 2007, 07:06 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 33



Whoops my bad - I guess it's probably a good idea to proof read it more than once tongue.gif


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
treasure69
post Dec 8 2007, 10:02 PM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 8-December 07
Member No.: 2,807



QUOTE(Aardvark @ Nov 19 2007, 10:06 PM) *

Whoops my bad - I guess it's probably a good idea to proof read it more than once tongue.gif



i m using vista, and when i try to rename the new key it says that i can t cause a key with the same name already exists.

any comments on how to do this with vista??
i don t want to go through the install - uninstall thing...

thanks....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aardvark
post Dec 9 2007, 12:38 AM
Post #5


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 33



Well then, DOES a key with that name already exist? To make sure I guess you should do a search.

In regedit click Edit > Find and type in MSNMessenger then click find next, and keep pressing F3 on your keyboard after each succesive search result, keeping in mind the location of the results it finds down the bottom of regedit.

And keep in mind that it might take longer to find the answer to the problem than if you just did the uninstall thing in the first place.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
andy_morosta
post Dec 17 2007, 10:59 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-December 07
Member No.: 2,826



Hey there!!

Method 2 works perfectly!

And its sooo easy!

Thanx
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jackdoor
post Dec 23 2007, 12:37 PM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-December 07
Member No.: 2,835



I tried method one but there was already a key called msn messenger so i tried method two it worked but i couldent use much so i did method one with the file that was already there, it works but only as well as method two.

Any help you can give??
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GutterClown
post Dec 25 2007, 12:20 PM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 25-December 07
Member No.: 2,837



QUOTE(Aardvark @ Nov 17 2007, 12:36 PM) *
Method 1: The Registry Edit
-Click Start. Click Run. In the Run dialog box, type in regedit, and press enter.
-In Registry Editor, click the + sign next to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE to expand it. From the list that appears, click the + next to Software, and finally + Microsoft
-Scroll down to find the key called "MSNMessenger". If it does not exist, continue onwards. If it does, skip to the *.
-Now select the Microsoft folder you just expanded, and click Edit -> New -> Key from within the Registry Editor window.
-Rename the new key that appears to MSNMessenger.
(If you get "Cannot Rename key. The specified key name already exists...", Scroll up and find the folder in Microsoft called "MSNMessenger". This happens if you've had WLM installed and upgraded to 8.5)
*-Select the MSNMessenger key you just created\found (if it isn't already selected after renaming it), and from within the Registry Editor window click Edit -> New -> String.
-Name this string InstallationDirectory
-Right click the new InstallationDirectory string and select Modify
-in the Value Data field type in C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger
-Click OK
-Close Registry Editor
-Install SP3


Fixed "name already exists" issue.

This post has been edited by GutterClown: Dec 25 2007, 12:26 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
scketer
post Dec 26 2007, 10:42 AM
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: New Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-December 07
Member No.: 2,841



no, I won't change anything. mainly when I don't know what I'm doing. If you have incompatibility problems with the program you shoudnt make it available for download. Thats a total non-sence make people make changes on things u should have solved (dont know how but it doesnt matter).. OMG,nice example: "-The next time you restart WLM 8.5 you will recieve two error messages regarding features which will not work with WLM 8.5, this is normal.". LOL.

I have to search for another program then....

This post has been edited by scketer: Dec 26 2007, 10:45 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kangie
post Dec 26 2007, 04:58 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
***

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 494
Joined: 9-July 06
From: UK
Member No.: 10



Thanks GutterClown, added that in!

Scketer, if you wish to use all features of Stuffplug, then feel free to downgrade to WLM8.1. If not, please be patient until the 8.5 version of Stuffplug is released, or do as you said and go elsewhere tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aardvark
post Jan 10 2008, 03:28 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 734
Joined: 16-November 06
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 33



Yeah I realised there was like a step missing after the first error that was spotted out, but meh no point in updating it really that should be a logical step anyway. And hey if you wanna correct EVERYTHING then the P in Sp3 in the header should be a capital tongue.gif

EDIT: yeah MSNMessenger created/found whatever, I thought I said something about that anyway (checks) nup, oh well. And the step that's missing is that it doesn't make sense anymore (since TheSteve edited it). "Select the Microsoft key you just expanded" it didn't say anything about expanding a Microsoft key! Pah whatever new versions out anyway.

This post has been edited by Aardvark: Jan 10 2008, 03:35 AM


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kimmie
post Nov 23 2009, 12:26 PM
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-November 09
Member No.: 4,353



This guide is great and very easy to follow. Thanks for making a post about it.



--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 02:57 AM